New Hampshire is unique among states in that owning car insurance is not a legal requirement. However, there are a number of complicated rules and regulations when it comes to navigating the world of car insurance in New Hampshire, and you need to learn whether or not you are required to sign up for insurance, how much you have to pay and how to go about the whole process. This guide will provide all the information you need in order to make a satisfactory decision about purchasing car insurance in NH. It takes all the NH auto insurance information available online, at your local library and at the DMV and consolidates it into one easy to read article.
New Hampshire Auto Insurance Requirements
New Hampshire drivers do not need to carry car insurance except in special circumstances. These circumstances include a DWI conviction or a certain number of demerit points against your license, typically accrued through traffic violations or citations. For the first DWI, you are required to carry basic liability insurance (bodily injury and property damage) for three years following the conviction, and for the second and following DWIs you must carry liability insurance for five years after being convicted. In this case, paying for insurance is the penalty, and failure to do so will result in immediate suspension of your license.
While New Hampshire does not require its citizens to carry auto insurance, there are certain minimum guidelines that the state recommends everyone follow. These minimum insurance guidelines are required in the event of getting a DWI or accumulating demerit points. They include Bodily Injury Liability coverage of at least $25,000 per individual and $50,000 per accident as well as Property Damage Liability coverage of at least $25,000. In addition to the state’s minimum 25/50/25 plan, it is suggested that you hold Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM) Coverage of $25,000/$50,000.
Because you don’t need to have car insurance in the state of New Hampshire, you can take some time to renew your coverage or search for better rates after your current policy expires. However, keep in mind that if you get into an accident in the state while you don’t have insurance, you may have to pay costs out of pocket. With that in mind, it’s important to renew your policy as quickly as possible after it expires.
New Hampshire Auto Insurance Laws
As a state with a tort system, New Hampshire uses courts to determine fault in the event of an auto accident. The person who is ruled at fault is liable for all damages caused by the accident, whether he or she has insurance or not. For this reason, insurance companies suggest that individuals get more than the minimum suggested insurance, as courts may rule a variety of damages against the person at fault. These include the victim’s loss of wages, pain and suffering or medical bills.
New Hampshire Auto Insurance Coverage
There is no mandatory insurance coverage in NH, but there are still many potential coverage options for people interested in purchasing auto insurance. Liability coverage and UM coverage are required by DWI convicts, for instance, and these are the minimum suggested coverage types. However, if you are attempting to lease rather than own a car, you may be compelled to purchase collision insurance, which protects against collisions with objects, or comprehensive insurance, which protects against all other forms of damage to your car. If you live in an area prone to weather-related accidents, thefts or vandalism, it would be a good idea to get comprehensive insurance. If you are planning on listing other members of your family or friends on your insurance policy, you may want to get collision insurance.
Cheap New Hampshire Auto Insurance Quotes
New Hampshire has cheap auto insurance rates compared to other states in the country. You can find free quotes at a variety of insurance company websites. Simply type in your information into the online forms and compare the price results.
New Hampshire Auto Insurance Ratings
The qualities that determine your eligibility for cheap auto insurance in NH include:
* Credit rating
* Driving record
* Car make and model
* How much you drive
* Prior insurance coverage
Depending on how you rate according to these criteria, your auto insurance costs may vary. While NH has inexpensive auto insurance policies compared to other states in the country, if you have poor credit, live in a bad neighborhood, have a number of traffic violations on your record or happen to be a young male driver (to list some examples), you may have to be higher-than-average premiums.
New Hampshire Auto Insurance Rates
Annual auto insurance rates in New Hampshire are significantly lower than the national average of $1,440 in 2011. The average driver in New Hampshire only has to pay $1,030 per year on car insurance, and rates have only decreased over the past few years. If you are paying for insurance and you want to get cheaper rates, be sure to check out the current policy prices online today.
New Hampshire Auto Insurance Companies
There are a number of major insurance providers that serve New Hampshire. The following companies are safe bets with good deals, though there may be others if these rates are unsatisfactory:
New Hampshire doesn’t require you to get car insurance, but it is strongly encouraged. Visit the websites of the above providers and get free online quotes to see how much it would cost per month and how much you could save in the event of an accident.