Receive a Quote from our trusted partners

Cheap Mississippi Auto Insurance Quotes – MS Car Insurance Rates

Buying auto insurance in Mississippi is an important, legally necessary step that anyone interested in owning or leasing a car must take. Anyone who needs to buy insurance needs to learn all the pertinent information in order to make the most informed decision possible. This content aims to provide all that information in a one-stop location for users. Few people have time to consolidate all the information on MS car insurance on the web, so read on to discover everything you need to know about MS auto insurance!

Mississippi Auto Insurance Requirements

Drivers in the state of Mississippi are required to purchase car insurance; failure to do so can lead to some of the heftiest fines in the country. When the authorities stop your car and ask to see proof of auto insurance, not carrying it lands you with a fine of $1,000 for the first offense and suspension of your license for a full year on the second offense. Luckily, auto insurance in MS is somewhat cheaper than that in other cities, so fulfilling this requirement isn’t as big a deal as it seems. Failure to comply is definitely not worth the risk.

The minimum requirement for a car insurance carrier to purchase is a Bodily Injury Liability of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident and a Property Damage Liability of $25,000. Known as a 25/50/25 plan, this is the bare minimum that a Mississippi driver can get away with. Because MS is a tort state, many insurance companies recommend significantly higher insurance amounts, as the costs when courts get involved can skyrocket past the ability of a bare-bones coverage plan to save you from.

When your car insurance expires, you should make all necessary steps to renew it or to purchase insurance from a different provider. If the police stop you with a lapsed insurance policy, you will effectively be driving without insurance, which is both illegal and dangerous. You will be fined or may even have your license revoked.

Mississippi Auto Insurance Laws

Mississippi is a tort state when it comes to auto insurance, meaning that if you get into an accident you are allowed to take the other party to court to determine fault. If the court rules in your favor, the other person’s insurance company (or wallet!) pays for your damages. Additionally, if you suffer from any additional personal injury damages after your accident, including loss of wages or pain and suffering, you may be liable to advance a court claim for additional money.

Mississippi Auto Insurance Coverage

Because it is a tort state, MS individuals are encouraged to purchase more than the minimum levels of coverage, including uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage (UM), collision, comprehensive or personal injury protection (PIP). Additionally, Bodily Injury and Property Damage limits are only minimum levels – if a court finds you at fault and medical costs, loss of wages and other claims are over $25k, you have to foot the bill directly. Furthermore, tort-related costs only cover events where there is a decision over who is at fault. If you collide with inanimate objects or if your car is stolen, vandalized or damaged by the elements, then collision or comprehensive coverage would be required for compensation.

Cheap Mississippi Auto Insurance Quotes

To get cheap MS car insurance quotes, you don’t have to look very far. Free quotes are available online from all the major national insurance providers, and the prices are quite reasonable. The only problem comes in finding the best price – and this just takes time. It’s recommended that you spend about an hour looking at MS auto insurance quotes before coming to a final decision, as you could shave hundreds of dollars off of your annual expenses.

Mississippi Auto Insurance Ratings

MS car insurance companies determine your eligibility for low car insurance rates mostly according to your driving record. This is less invasive than some rating systems, but it means that you have to familiarize yourself with and follow all the rules of the road if you want to keep your low premiums. A traffic or parking violation may result in significantly higher premiums. Additionally, if you are proven to be at fault in an accident, your premiums are likely to rise significantly in your next insurance payment period.

Mississippi Auto Insurance Rates

MS car insurance rates are lower than the national average by about $300. In 2011, the average Mississippi car insurance annual cost was about $1100, having dropped significantly from 2010. Indeed, car insurance rates have been falling over the past several years, meaning that even if you have MS auto insurance, you would do well to look again at your options, as prices will have dropped below what you are currently paying. It’s a good time to need insurance in MS, and with the stiff penalties, there is absolutely no reason to drive without it.

Mississippi Auto Insurance Companies

All the major national auto insurance companies serve Mississippi drivers in full, so it’s just a matter of going down the list, typing your information into the free online quote forms, comparing the quotes you get from each company, then signing up for the one that works for you. MS insurance providers include:

* Nationwide
* Progressive
* Allstate
* Geico
* Travelers Insurance

Because car insurance is a necessary evil, why not get it as cheaply as possible? Visit these insurance providers and others for free online quotes today.

Posted by Admin | in States | No Comments »

Comments are closed.

All logos, trademarks and other propriety marks belong to their respective owners and do not reflect an association or recommendation by any of the parties. Disclaimer: This content is not provided or commissioned by any licensed insurance company, state or federal agency. The opinions expressed here are those of the author's and not those of any licensed insurance company or agent. We are an independent website and your use of this site signifies your consent and agreement to our terms of use & privacy policy. For information pertaining to your unique needs always contact a licensed professional and always double check car insurance requirements with your state before obtaining a policy.