The state of Minnesota requires their drivers to have more extensive car insurance coverage than most of the other states. Along with liability coverage, drivers are also required to have some form of coverage for the driver who is found at fault in the car collision. Minnesota auto insurance laws also require that drivers have Minnesota auto insurance coverage for any uninsured or underinsured motorists that may cause car collisions in the future.
Minnesota auto insurance requirements are written as 30/60/10. The number 30 corresponds to $30,000 and it is the amount of Minnesota auto insurance coverage that drivers must have for bodily injury liability for one person. The number 60 means that $60,000 is required for the entire accident for bodily injury liability. The number 10 is equal to $10,000 and it is how much property damage liability coverage that MN drivers must have to drive in that state.
Most other states stop with the three numbers for bodily injury and property damage liability coverage, but Minnesota also requires that drivers have Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Insurance. Liability car insurance only applies to the other person’s vehicle and medical expenses and not the policyholder’s vehicle and medical costs. In the event that the policyholder causes an accident, the liability policy will only pay for the other driver’s expenses. The insurance company will not pay the policyholder’s bills so he or she will have to pay for all of his or her own expenses.
Not everyone has the means to meet this expense and, for this reason, Minnesota auto insurance laws require that Minnesota drivers have a PIP insurance policy that will pay all medical expenses. The minimum amount drivers in Minnesota are required to have is at least $40,000 for the accident. The $40,000 is broken down further into two $20,000 parts; $20,000 is required for all types of medical expenses and $20,000 for expenses related to the accident such as lost wages. The people who will be included in PIP insurance are the driver, the driver’s passengers and everyone on the policy, if they are ever hurt in a car collision.
According to Minnesota auto insurance laws, everyone is required to have the same amount of minimum coverage, but this may not be enough to cover all the expenses in one accident. The minimum requirement that someone who only has liability insurance have for bodily injury is $30,000 for medical expenses. It is possible that one person’s medical bills will exceed that amount. For this reason, Minnesota requires that drivers also carry an extra $25,000 in underinsured motorist coverage. For the entire accident, drivers need to have $50,000 in this type of coverage.
Even though it is part of Minnesota auto insurance laws to have liability coverage, not everyone complies with them. When these uninsured people cause accidents on the roads, they do not have the minimum amounts of liability insurance to cover $30,000 of bodily injury insurance for one person and $60,000 for the entire accident. These uninsured drivers do not necessarily have enough money in the bank to pay out of pocket for all car repairs and medical bills. This is why drivers also need to have uninsured motorist coverage. The numbers are the same for uninsured motorist coverage as they are for underinsured motorist coverage; they must have $25,000 for bodily injuries for one person and $50,000 for at least two people for the entire accident.
Once drivers have purchased the required amounts of Minnesota auto insurance coverage, they will be required by law to have proof of this insurance with them at all times when they are driving the car. Minnesota auto insurance laws state that the name of the insurance company as well as the insurance policy’s number be written on the insurance card. Drivers can also carry a letter from the car insurance company stating the above information or they can have a copy of the insurance policy with them.
Minnesota auto insurance is a requirement and people may need to make sure that their Minnesota auto insurance rates are as low as they can possibly be. The way in which people can ensure that this happens is by doing a search online for cheap Minnesota auto insurance quotes. Drivers can do this by going to an insurance broker online that represents several different Minnesota auto insurance companies. By doing this, drivers will receive a free, online quote from each car insurance company.
Auto insurance brokers will give their clients’ information to their Minnesota auto insurance companies for the type of coverage that the clients want to purchase. The car insurance companies, in their turn, send Minnesota auto insurance rates to the clients, often right to their inboxes. From here, the clients can choose the cheap Minnesota auto insurance quotes that they find to be the best.
The next step that drivers are advised to take is to check these Minnesota auto insurance companies out to discover more about them. What they need to know is how happy their clients are with the company’s services. If the company has high Minnesota auto insurance ratings and good rates, then this particular company is one to be considered. If the ratings are low, this signifies that the car insurance company does not perform its duties well. This could mean that they do not process their claims promptly or that they do not make sure that repairs are done as quickly as possible.