People looking to find auto insurance in the state of Connecticut may have a hard time figuring out their options. This page is designed to provide all the information anyone needs about CT auto insurance in one easy-to-read format. Informed customers are better customers, but few people have time to go searching the web, the library or the DMV for information about how auto insurance works in Connecticut. Read on to discover everything you need to know about getting CT car insurance!
Connecticut Auto Insurance Requirements
Drivers in Connecticut are required to have auto insurance and to carry proof of their policy at all times while driving. Failure to meet minimum insurance requirements or failure to carry proof of policy may result in a $200 fine for first-time offenders or suspension of vehicle registration for repeat offenders. Compared to other states, these requirements are middle-of-the-road in terms of strictness; where some states charge lower fines, other states may call for jail time for repeat offenders.
CT insurance law requires drivers to have at least $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident in Bodily Injury Liability coverage, at least $10,000 in Property Damage Liability coverage and at least $20,000/$40,000 in Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage. This is referred to as 20/40/10 coverage with 20/40 UM limits.
Proof of insurance is required before registering any vehicle in a person’s name. When insurance expires in CT, the insurance company notifies state authorities, who send a notification that a driver must send proof of insurance or face a $200 fine or suspension of registration.
Connecticut Auto Insurance Laws
Connecticut auto insurance laws are based on what is known as a tort system, meaning that who is at fault in the accident matters with regards to whose insurance company pays for the damage and whose premiums are raised. In addition to the immediate damages caused by the accident, the person ruled to be the victim has the right to file a claim in court against the guilty party for additional damages related to the accident, including pain and suffering or lost wages.
Connecticut Auto Insurance Coverage
Other types of CT auto insurance that are not required by the state include collision and comprehensive insurance, which cover damages due to reasons other than a standard two-person accident where one person is at fault. They include collision with inanimate objects, theft, vandalism, and acts of God. These types of insurance, while not required by CT, may be required by dealers who lease vehicles in order to protect their investments. They are significantly more expensive than basic, no-frills insurance policies, so you should always make sure to understand the ultimate costs of leasing versus buying a vehicle.
Cheap Connecticut Auto Insurance Quotes
In order to get cheap CT auto insurance quotes, you need to do a thorough search through the companies that offer auto insurance in the state of Connecticut. This may require an hour or two of making a chart to compare the different deals each insurance company offers at any given time. It feels like a game in which all the rules are embedded deeply in fine print, but don’t despair. In general, the average rates in Connecticut as of 2010 were about $1828 per year, so all you have to do in order to find cheap CT insurance is add up the amount you’ll have to pay any given company for insurance. If it’s over $1828, it’s expensive and if it’s under $1828, it’s cheap. Try to find something at least $100 or $200 below the average, as car insurance prices have dropped over the past two years and are expected to drop further in the future.
Keep in mind that the above advice only applies to individuals who meet or exceed the average risk levels. If you are a relatively risk-free driver, you may be eligible for significantly reduced insurance rates. Read on to learn how CT insurance companies tend to judge drivers.
Connecticut Auto Insurance Ratings
Not all insurance quotes are created equal. Depending on certain qualities you hold as a driver and as a person, you may be charged more money for insurance than someone else. Connecticut insurance companies use credit score as a general risk indicator, meaning that people with low credit scores are judged to be more likely to get into an accident and cost the insurance company money. Additionally, driving record is often used to determine an individual’s insurance rating. Your age, the accident rates in the area you live in and the type of car you own are also likely to affect your insurance rating.
Connecticut Auto Insurance Rates
Connecticut auto insurance rates are among the more expensive rates in the country. In 2010 they were rated among the highest in the nation with average premium rates of $1828 – nearly $400 higher the the national average. This can make getting cheap insurance in the state of CT a difficult proposition at best, and it means that finding a good deal is essential for any driver.
Connecticut Auto Insurance Companies
There are many different auto insurance companies operating out of Connecticut. The companies offering the best deals include:
* State Farm
These companies all offer online free car insurance quotes, so be sure to look through them to determine which one has the best deal on CT car insurance before you sign up. Good luck and happy insurance hunting!